Testimonials

INTRODUCTORY DIVERS

GREAT EXPERIENCE! AREUM P
February 2, 2017
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 4 STARS  Overall: 5 STARS
Great experience. Though it was my first scuba diving, Max guided me very well so that I could enjoy under the sea. I met turtles, octupus, and small sharks under a rock.

Great experience! Dana F
February 7, 2016
Dive Sites: 3 STARS Staff: 4 STARS  Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
Max was a great guide 🙂 easy to talk to, experienced and tells a few good jokes 🙂 I started off doing shallow dives after a couple of years of not diving and he gave great feedback on my diving 🙂 The visibility was a bit low when we went out but still got to swim with my first turtle!! 🙂 just what I wanted 🙂

Amazing! Michael E
November 2, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
This was perhaps one of the best experiences of my life. Backs took me down for two dives. It was my first time and I was pretty nervous at first. But once I got the breathing down (which Max helped me with), he showed me some amazing wildlife and coral reefs. I would recommend everybody go dive with him at least once. He’s very friendly and knows how to explain everything clearly. I saw turtles, colorful fish, and octopi. He also let me take my gopro down with me and took pictures of me as well. You would be missing out if you didnt dive with Max. Just awesome.

Sorry about the pictures. I don’t have my laptop with me but these are just some small examples of the music video and pictures I got from him and with my own Go Pro camera.

THE BEST !!!! Anonymous
September 12, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
Max is the absolute best diving guide as well as diving instructor !!!! He knows the places to go and knows how to keep the dive fun and interesting. Treat yourself to an experience unlike any other and go diving with Max. You will be glad you did !!

For personal use only. No commercial uses authorized. All rights reserved.
For personal use only. No commercial uses authorized. All rights reserved.

Recommend BOYEONG H
August 23, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
Scuba diving was one of my extraordinary experience. When I close my eyes, I still can remember that scenery vividly. It was the first time of me, so I was very nervous and frightened. But Max hold my hands, watched me carefully, helped me to be calm and even found my lost swim fins:) One of the strong points of Manini Dive is you can dive just with a small group. In my case, I dive only with Max and my boyfriend. You can feel more safe and see a lot more than others. If you are the first time like me, try to contact with Manini Dive. Thanks a lot Max!

Best Scuba Dive on Oahu! Skip S
June 9, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
This was our first scuba dive. Max was super friendly and helpful. He was very knowledgable and helped us understand everything we needed to know. He was extremely patient with me as I had some issues getting my rhythm. He did not rush us or try to make me feel bad about needing extra attention. He keeps his dives to a maximum of 4 divers so you can dive longer and have more attention / instruction. Excellent intro into diving.

I have Cerebral Palsy and I am now also a SCUBA DIVER! Stephen D
May 18, 2015 Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARSDive Sites:  Staff:  Safety:  Equipment:  Overall:
Here is my total disclaimer first: Max Brunk, the owner and sole dive instructor for Manini Dive Company Hawaii, is a close personal friend of mine. Please keep reading before you discount this review as biased. I am not your average tourist/diver: I have Cerebral Palsy. There isn’t any way that I would get in the water with an air tank on my back with anyone but a close friend. The fact that that Max is my friend makes it even better!

Exceeded my expectations Karen
April 30, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
Max is a very calm and experienced instructor, the tour was very good!!! I had the opportunity to be the only diver of the tour, therefore Max could take pictures to me and I didn’t have to worry about it.

Great first dive experience Josh
December 2, 2014
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
I found out about Max through a friend who dives with him every time he’s in Hawaii. I wasn’t sure what to expect but he was prompt in answering any questions I had via text and came right to my hotel with his van. There were only 3 of us that day, the other 2 were a Japanese couple on their honeymoon that didn’t speak a lot of English. Max was very patient with them and was able to speak a bit of Japanese to them. He described everything in a manner that everyone could understand and made it fun.

We got on board a catamaran with a few other dive companies and saw some dolphins on the way out to the dive! The dive site was about 20 minutes from the pier and they provided snacks and water for free. We did a total of 2 dives, each about 20 minutes and all equipment was provided by Max and though it did show some wear it functioned perfectly. There are no lockers on board the boat so just keep your stuff out of sight and it will be fine.

His rates are some of the most competitive out there and provides door to door service which not too many companies do. He takes tons of photos with his underwater camera and you can buy a CD right afterwards for $15. He gave me a special deal since I knew his friend which was outstanding.

This was my first time ever scuba diving in the ocean and I’m glad I went with Max. He made my first experience diving in Hawaii one I will always remember!

Max is a great diving guide Frank
September 13, 2014
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
I selected manini dive ( max ) by luck from google. At this time of year it is not possible to scuba on the north shore of oahu ( where i stayed ), waves are too big. I travelled 1 hour to hawaii kai where i met max. Max takes you out on a communal dive boat, so could be many others but max only takes 4 himself. The dive sites were great. i went on a intro dive which included 2 dives in different locations. On the second dive we witnessed an octopus get attacked by a moray eel. Quite unique. Max made me feel comfortable and i would recommend him for sure.

Great Dive Experience Lexi W
August 13, 2013
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
I used to live in Hawaii and knew Max from before I left. I wanted a small company that was very focused on creating a wonderful dive experience. I got that with Max. I did two days of diving with Max. Both days were wonderful. I managed to see turtles, sharks, fish of all kinds and he even found an octopus. He was amazing. He was considerate of your dive level and made sure you were comfortable with what you were doing. On top of that Max was engaging and had a wonderful personality making you feel like you had known him forever. I would recommend him and his company to anyone and he is one of the few people I call up whenever I am back and wanting to dive.

Max always does best dives on oahu and for great prices Tegro
February 19, 2013
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
We lived in hawaii and certified with max 2 years ago. We were back on vacation and we called him up. He remembered who we were and gave us the discounted rate since he certified us before. The dives were great and max is a big time octopus whisperer. My wife loves playing with octopus and max never failed us. Definitely go with max. You wont be disappointed.

What a great time! Robert P
February 12, 2013
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
The week I was in Honolulu (in January), they had unusually rainy and windy weather. I wasn’t able to go to the beach much, and I wasn’t sure if dive boats would be going out. I called a dive shop and they said it was too choppy and recommended I give Max a call since he’s on the south shore. I’m so glad I did! His immediate response was “It’s just as wet down below, so yes, we’re going out.” He picked me up at the apartment where I was staying and dropped me off at the end of the day. The dive boat was fairly comfortable, and there were snacks and water provided. We went to the horse shoe and dove the Sea Tiger wreck, which was very cool. I got to swim with the resident sea turtle. “Righteous!” (That’s a “Finding Nemo” reference, by the way.) Max had a special going on when I was there—$99 for a two-tank dive, which is much cheaper than other places. Even without the special, he charges a reasonable $120 including equipment rental AND he threw in underwater photos of me at no additional cost (all photos I posted here are by Max). They were in my inbox within two days. I definitely recommend Max and Manini Dive Company, and whenever I get back to Honolulu, that’s the dive shop I’ll be calling!

Good diving, good people! T. K
February 8, 2013
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
The week I was in Honolulu (in January), they had unusually rainy and windy weather. I wasn’t able to go to the beach much, and I wasn’t sure if dive boats would be going out. I called a dive shop and they said it was too choppy and recommended I give Max a call since he’s on the south shore. I’m so glad I did! His immediate response was “It’s just as wet down below, so yes, we’re going out.” He picked me up at the apartment where I was staying and dropped me off at the end of the day. The dive boat was fairly comfortable, and there were snacks and water provided. We went to the horse shoe and dove the Sea Tiger wreck, which was very cool. I got to swim with the resident sea turtle. “Righteous!” (That’s a “Finding Nemo” reference, by the way.) Max had a special going on when I was there—$99 for a two-tank dive, which is much cheaper than other places. Even without the special, he charges a reasonable $120 including equipment rental AND he threw in underwater photos of me at no additional cost (all photos I posted here are by Max). They were in my inbox within two days. I definitely recommend Max and Manini Dive Company, and whenever I get back to Honolulu, that’s the dive shop I’ll be calling!

For an awesome Hawaiian dive experience go with Manini John K
May 2, 2012
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

This is the third year I have dove with Manini. This time I took my adult son and we really enjoyed ourselves . Max the owner and divemaster is personable , reliable , a great instructor and straight shooter. I have had a great diving experience each year with Max. I recommend Manini for both the novice and experienced divers.

We had an awesome experience with great diving team. Judy B
August 20, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 4 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

The instructors were very helpful and professional. Despite this being our first dive we felt very safe and well informed regarding the diving procedure. Our recommendations to anyone who chooses to dive with this company.

My Scuba adventure was one of the highlights of my Hawaii trip…I got to see a shark, an eel, an octopus, and the most colorful Charlie D
August 17, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS
Max and Marlene are both great – very nice people and very laid back! Max gave the pre- dive refresher and I then spent the majority of my dive with Marlene. I got my diving certification many years ago and my skills were extremely rusty. I was very nervous but Marlene made me comfortable with her calm nature and expert diving skills! And it was easy to communicate with her even when we were underwater. Having Marlene as my dive buddy made all the difference in the world and I can’t wait to do my next dive with Max and Marlene. Dive Manini!

CERTIFIED DIVERS:

Great dive! Olivia S
February 21, 2017
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Great dive, Max was great and responsive for setting up the dive. The sites were awesome! I had a great time!

Awesome dive trip Nathan B
June 8, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Scuba diving in Hawaii was at the top of our “to do” list. After looking on this website I called up Max for the dive. Booking was easy. Max picked us up from the hotel, everything was provided and set up for us. I find it hard to sit back and not help out but Max insisted I was on vacation and to just relax and enjoy. We had two beautiful dives, one on a double wreck, the other on a reef. I took my camera and got some awesome photos to remember the day, and max also was able to provide some incredible shots he took. Probably the high lights were the two giant turtles we saw, as well as playing with an octopus. Made for some great photos.

Anyway, would definitely dive again with max and recommend him highly. No mess, no fuss, great diving on your trip.

Dave P
May 28, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

This was my 2nd day with Max , i didn’t think it was possible but day 2 was even better. I cannot stress enough how comfortable Max makes you feel. Safety wise I watched Max share air on company’s group on safety stop, where was the instructor for this other diver? But Max sorted it, I don’t know about you, but that is who I’d like to dive with. Friendly, really makes you feel at ease , and have I mentioned how safe n professional Max is. I am already planning my next dive with Max and I’m from Australia fantastic.

Best Personal Service you can find TJ A
May 3, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

If you want to scuba dive like a tourist go somewhere else. But if you want non rushed personal service with a touch reach out to Manini Dive Company. I have been diving for 32 years and I have not found anybody that I just wanted to dive with every chance I get. For most people it is just a job and rush rush rush. Max is just not that guy. He is there for you, not just for a job. He loves scuba diving. On my last trip I had another place cancel on me and by luck I found Manini. I ended up diving with them several days in a row. And the days I went with other people I wish I was back diving with Max. When I go back I will be going out with Manini Dive Company. I learned to dive in Hawaii over 32 years ago and I have dove all over the world and I have to say Max with Manini Dive has been my best Dive Master to date. And I have been out with a lot of great Dive Masters.

fun & relaxing experience Elizabeth
March 15, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Max is awesome. I am an advanced diver with +400 dives. We had a small group (2) and were never rushed to hurry into the water as I have been so many times before with other companies. Extremely laid back (as it should be on vacation) and full of jokes. A seasoned photographer he takes plenty of amazing photos, CD of your dive is available immediately after dive. The Kahala Kai was the catamaran we dove off of. A nice boat with 2 heads & plenty of room to move about the boat with other companies on the boat. Max found an octopus that didn’t mind the many photos. Max was punctual with door to door service, pleasant, positive individual with a constant smile. We dove the Sea Tiger wreck & a reef off of Kewalo Pipes. The dives were awesome!!! I highly recommend Max.

5歳で洗濯機をボートに見立ててダイバーごっこしてたそうです! 猫村ねこ
February 7, 2015
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

2015年2月5日シータイガーの沈没船ともう一個ダイビングポイントに潜りました。 中上級コースらしいですがゆっくり丁寧に教えて貰えるので安心してついて行けました。 おっきな亀のお昼寝とサメ、ウツボを見たり、タコで遊んだりしました~(*´-`) また行きたいです。

The BEST Diving Instructor ‘MAX BRUNK’ Rachel K
September 13, 2014
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Max is just an amazing instructor who takes excellent care of you. If you have never gone scuba diving then you must meet up with Max and book a trip with him. You will not be disappointed whatsoever but empowered and uplifted into a whole different realm of reality. You are the best Max and I hope I get the chance to dive with you again. Cheers from Bernard and Rachel in Ireland.

Great experience, Max was very helpful Mlhzlp
May 9, 2014
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

I had two dives with Max. I am PADI advanced diver, +50 dives. Max arranged the site that i wanted to dive, Sea Tiger Wreck. He was very helpful in all matters.  He even assembled all my gear – which i have never seen anywhere. Other diving clubs i checked requested 50 usd extra just for equipment.

Max took amazing photos underwater, my best photos ever, lifetime.
I had a problem with the CD which had the photos, he was very kind to come to my hotel to drop another copy.

I will definetely dive with this company again.

Awesome Dives! David G
February 17, 2014
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Max is great! My Dad has used him for years when visiting Oahu and I got to dive with him this time. We dove the YO and San Pedro on our first tank. The second tank was at turtle canyon. Besides the dozen or so turtles, he found two octopi that we got to experience. He knows how to provide an amazing dive experience. When diving Oahu, definitely sign up and go with Max.

Best Dive Ever!! JPPABR
February 16, 2014
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

This dive expect all my expectations!! I’m certified PADI diver, with at least 100 dives and i choose this dive company after see all the excellent reviews about dive with MAX. I wanted to make sure that me and my partner will have the best experience in Hawaii on her first dive and my first wreck dive in Hawaii. “Sea Tiger Wreck” is the place to go. Max was in our hostel on time to pick us up and take us to the Boat which was in an excellent condition. All crew were very friendly making everyone very comfortable during the short boat trip. Price was the best as well. I did a little bit of research 🙂 We even got a discount for having our mask that we did even use.. 🙂 and at the end he even give us 30+ FREE pictures that he took from us during the dive. We saw Turtles, shark, octopus, Eel… So much fun!!

Awesome diving – always brings me back Gabe S
January 14, 2014
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Well i have been coming to Oahu to dive with Max since 2000, and its always been fun. I have had Max teach my aunt to dive and even take her to the ship wreck. Then there’s my mum, someone who’s terrified to put her head under water in a swimming pool yet she has been 30 feet under water diving because she trusts Max (now up to 13 dives over the years). I think that is the biggest thing i can say about Max he inspires trust and helps you do your best even if you don’t believe you can. I recommend diving with Max as its an experience you wont soon forget, it will inspire you as you see him share a piece of his love for the ocean.

Outstanding wreck and reef dive experience. Alex S
March 29, 2012
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

I completed my advanced certification with Manini. Max is a great dive master who can take you on a variety of dives whatever your skill level and interest – deep wrecks, shallow reefs, different parts of the island – and he does a great job spotting wildlife and taking quality photos of your dives. Saw lots of turtles, reef shark, octopus, squid and a bunch of different fish. I recommend the corsair dive, where you get to swim around a sunken WWII plane. I definitely plan on diving with Max and Manini when I return.

Diving with Manini is the best. Greg S
August 22, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

I have been diving the south shore of Oahu for several years now and have dove with several different dive companies. Manini Dive Company is the BEST!!!! Max is knowledgeable about all of the dive sites and just fun to be on the boat and in the water with. I can guarantee a fantastic dive experience with him.

Awesome Hawaiian Dive Erin
August 15, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

I chose to dive with Max from Manini Dive Company based on his great reviews on TripAdvisor and that he only takes a few divers at a time. Being a relatively green diver this was important to me.  Max picked me up from where I was staying and we went straight to the boat. Everything was ready for me and I didn’t need to do a thing. Turned out that I was his only client for the morning dives which was great! Once on board, Max explained the two dives and seemed even more excited than me. You can tell that he really has a passion for the sport which made me more excited.

Our first dive was on a wreck and I saw no less than 4 sea turtles! I had some trouble getting my breath and Max was so patient and helped me get my breathing back under control so we could finish the dive.

The second dive was along the pipe and there was lots of coral and tropical fish.

One of the best parts of the dive was that Max brought his camera along and took some great shots for me, which he emailed me a couple of weeks later.

If you want an expert dive master with great enthusiasm and professionalism, book your dive with Max! I know I will when I am back in Hawaii!

Max is the Man for all your Oahu diving Mike F
August 14, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

We recommend Max and Manini Dive Company for all your scuba requirements, He is just great for intro dives, training dives, PADI exams or just recreational dives for certified divers. He will go out of his way to suit your needs, as he did several times to take us to Sharks cove and do the elevator dive. He will give beginners confidence and and train you for your PADI if you want. He’ll watch your back on deep dives and wrecks, always making sure we have a safe dive. Go with Max.

Great people make great fun Carlos D
August 14, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

I can say these guys have a great Aloha spirit and like to make people happy,if you want a good time with great spirited people make them part of your trip or part of your day if your local see you in the water and dive safe.

To the Max! Sarah S
June 25, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Max was a great guide! Easy-going and fun. Scuba with him was a great time and we saw tons of fishes as well as sea turtles.

Wow. Max in one sentence. Can’t be done. Bob
May 16, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

It would be easier describing Bob Clark in one sentence. Bob Clark, coming through. Max is the best dive operator in the islands, from beginner to advanced. If you find yourself on Oahu and looking for a dive. Call Max and tell him Bob sent you. On second thought about one sentence.
Max is my friend. I wouldn’t dive with anyone else.

Max is Awesome John
February 20, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

I am told Manini means Mini in Hawaiian… rightfully so with this dive company. When I went it was only myself and one other person. He says he shoots for 4 people in a group to ensure everyone has a great time. When we were in the water he really took time to show us stuff. We played with Octopus, swam with turtles, and interacted with a lot of sea life. Max really puts a lot of effort into making sure you have a good time. Plus he is a great underwater photographer!

The best dive I ever had due to extremely great service and experience! Trenck
January 7, 2011
Dive Sites: 5 STARS Staff: 5 STARS Safety: 5 STARS Equipment: 5 STARS Overall: 5 STARS

Hi! Had the best dive I’ve ever had with Max Brunk at Manini Dive Company, Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii. It was only me and him diving and he really put an effort into finding all the great sea life, took fantastic pictures of me and a seaturtle, me and an octopus, clipper lobster and he found sleeping sharks for me. It was fantastic!

BOOK NOW